Read the latest P 5 preamp and A 23 power amp reviews
All Halo models are now available in black and are in stock
Apple® bought 4 JC 1s for Audio Director Tom Holman's lab
New Models
© 2006 PARASOUND PRODUCTS, INC.
  P 5 Preamplifier

Stereo&Video (May, 2014)
"This amazing group of equipment best demonstrates the audio industry's present state of the art. This unit is absolutely state-of-the-art and technological to its core."

Home Theater Review (April, 2014)
"A feature-packed product with nearly everything the digital and analog audiophile could hope for all wrapped up in one pretty package. The P 5 does a wonderful job of resolving fine details in music... captures and delivers it wonderfully, with sumptuous richness and oodles of warmth... exceptional imagine and soundstage capabilities. Overall, I adore the ergonomics of the P 5, I love its twist knob input selector, I love its volume knob... I just adore touching the thing, to be quite frank about it. And with the vast bulk of my digital music collection, I simply adore listening to it."

Stereophile, April 2014
"Exceptional clarity. Exceptional dynamics. Neutral without being colorless. Very well made and complete for the price. What's not to like?...This is about as fine a $1095 preamp as I can imagine in 2014. Heartily recommended."

Hi-Fi Choice, April 2014
"The P 5 seemingly goes out of its way to throw up as much detail as it can... If you're looking for a 'Swiss Army Knife' of an audio product, this won't disappoint."
Review

     

Halo - JC 2 Reviews

HomeTheaterReview.com, February 2010
If you're an audiophile, you almost certainly know of the Parasound company, a manufacturer of high-end audio/video electronics (and other products) that are of extremely high quality, yet are not stratospherically priced. Halo is Parasound's premium line of components. (The JC 2 is not inexpensive at $4,000, but this is a high-end component we're talking about, and for what you get, that can be considered good value.) You might also know of John Curl, a veteran audio designer who is inarguably one of the true greats in the field. Curl has worked for esteemed companies like Mark Levinson, Vendetta Research, Harman Kardon Citation, Wilson Audio and others, and even worked on electronics for the Grateful Dead. Curl has been a consultant to Parasound since the late 1980s.

Stereophile, March 2008
Review

POSITIVE FEEDBACK ONLINE - ISSUE 34 (Max Dudious)
Review

       

Halo - JC 2 Reviews

       

Stereophile
HomeTheaterReview.com
Home Theater High Fidelity
AV Guide
HomeTheaterReview.com
About.com - Stereo Separates Reviews
About.com - Gary's Stereos Blog
Home Entertainment magazine
CEPro
SlashGear
Audio Video Revolution
Pro AV Magazine
Engadget
Ecoustics
Residential Systems

Halo - P 3 Preamplifier Reviews
Halo - C 1 Controller Reviews
Sound & Vision, November 2004
"The Halo C 1 displays an extraordinary attention to detail..." "...if you want to roll your own high-end home theater system without outside assistance, the C 1 might be your best bet." "It deserves consideration for a large home theater by virtue of those programmable outputs, which have the potential to produce a sonic experience unmatchable...by most other equipment of any kind." "These programmable auxiliary outputs might be just the thing for a really big listening room with more than just six satellites and one subwoofer available." - David Ranada



Home Cinema Choice (UK), October 2004
"The processor offers enveloping surround sound processing, and the power amplifier (A 51) is muscular." "It avoids the edgy, electrical patina of some processors I've heard, and has a warmth, scale and liveliness which provide their own rewards." "The Halo C 1's processor's TFT screen is a blessing... "Five Stars - Alvin Gold



Home Theater, September 2004
What's the one piece of gear currently in your system that you can't live without? "Parasound's Halo processor allows the signal to pass through virtually unfettered: The highs are sweet and clear, without sounding etched; the mids are full and rich, giving body and weight to midrange spectra; and bass is crisp and tight. The Halo has improved the manner in which I evaluate other gear; it's indispensable for its neutrality." - Jerry Kindella, Contributor



Audio (Poland), August 2004
"The C 1 and A 52 is the most powerful control and amplification center for Home Theater you can ever imagine for this price." "The transparency of the sound, its precision is outstanding." "The C 1 capabilities are hard to describe, because there are so many things you can control and it is so easy that even non-professionals can easily configure your home theater system." "In summary, we can say that it is very hard to imagine any competitive devices with the same outstanding capabilities and sound reproduction." - Wojciech Pacula



Home Entertainment and Design, May 2004
Featured component in Surround Sound on Steroids article. "With its automatic setup capability, its professional-style BNC video connections and XLR audio connections, and its front LCD screen, Parasound's Halo C 1 must be considered a state-of-the-art surround-sound processor." "The vessel that takes me where few home theater fans have gone before is Parasound Products' Halo C 1 surround-sound preamp/processor." "The music fills my room like never before. It's enveloping, addictive." "...Parasound's C 1 surround-sound processor can give you a taste of what lies beyond 7.1." - Brent Butterworth



Audioholics, April 2004
"Installing the Halos (C 1 and C 2) proved to be extremely easy as the ergonomic back panel was effortless to work with and follow." "In stereo mode the Halos were able to present tremendous detail and imaging without sounding mechanical." "I positioned the extra channel speakers in along the wall of each side of the room, about mid-way, and facing the center of the room. My thought was to try and emulate the speakers along the side wall of a movie theater. When doing so, I must admit that I was astonished to hear how these speakers really added to the movie experience." "Parasound created two wonders with their design of the Halo C 1 and C 2." - Steve DellaSala



Revue Du Son Du Home Cinema (France), March 2004
"Le filtrage LC de l'alimentation numérique SMPS, assez rare du fait de son coût et de la place qu'il prend, est incontestablement supérieur en terme de bruit; le mode différentiel des circuits, l'intelligence avec laquelle sont réparties les fonctions entre numérique et analogique pour tirer le meilleur parti des deux, le souci constant de l'optimisation du trajet du signal comme celui du traitement et de la programmation personnalisée font du C 1 un préamplificateur unique qui sait rester logique et simple d'utilisation malgré ses capacités quasi-insaturables! Voilà bien un maillon qui a a définitivement les pieds dans le vingt et unième siècle à la croisée entre l'informatique, l'audio et la vidéo....il va falloir s'y faire car ce n'est qu'un début! A conseiller sans réserve."



"The SMPS digital power supply LC filtering, rare enough because of its cost and the room it takes, is way far superior in terms of noise level, differential circuit modes, and a clever way of sharing the digital/analog domains permitting the most out of them both; constant care given to the signal path/processing/customizing makes the C 1 a unique preamp/processor capable of staying consistent and user-friendly, despite its virtually limitless capabilities. Here we have a product definitely treading into the 21st century, at the crossroads of computing, audio and video, and we will have to cope with this because it's only the beginning! Recommended without any reservation." 5 Stars Recommended - Jean Hiraga



Video (Germany), January 2004
"Mit souveräner Kraft und perfekter Harmonie führt die edle Vor-/Endstufen-Kombi von Parasound direkt ins akustische Nirvana."



"With precise force and perfect harmony the noble preamp/amplifier combination from Parasound takes you directly to acoustic Nirvana." - Jürgen Schröder



FAZ (Germany), December 2003
"...im Stereobetrieb glänzte die Anlage mit einer sauberen räumlichen Abbildung..." "...Parasound ist für Produkte mit exzellentem Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis bekannt..." - Michael Spehr



"In Stereo operation, the system shines with clear, full reproduction..." "...Parasound is known for products with an excellent price-performance ratio..." - Michael Spehr



Image Home Entertainment (Germany), November 2003
"...als echtes Überraschungspaket muss übrigens die Fünfkanal-Endstufe gleten: Sie begeistert mit durchweg audiophiler Klangqualität, gepaart mit unerbittlicher Power..." "...läutet der Parasound C 1 eine ganz neue Generation von AV-Controllern ein..." "...Feinheiten im Setup zeugen von Liebe zum Detail und enormer Surround-Erfahrung..." "...Fazit: Hier waren zweifellos Könner am Werk..." "...das Teamwork mit der A 51 befördert den C 1 in die klanglich erste Riege..." "...der vom legendären Audio-Enwickler John Curl gezeichneten Endstufe..." "...diese eng beschriebene Dokument ist perfekt gemacht, leicht verständlich, liefert obendrein jede Menge Hintergrunderklärungen, beschreibt das Gerät absolute vollständig und kann sogar mit Internet-Hinweisen, Stichwortverzeichnis sowie ausführlichen Grafiken aufwarten. Kompliment!" - Roland Kraft



"...the output stage with 5 channels must be considered as a real surprise-package: it enthuses with audiophile sound-quality without exception, joined by inexorable power..." "... the Parasound C 1 rings in a totally new generation of AV controllers..." "...refinements in the setup show the love for details and an enormous know-how for surround..." "...to sum it up: here doubtlessly experts were at work..." "... the teamwork with the A 51 promotes the C 1 to the A-grade squad in sound..." "... the output stage, drawn by legendary audio-developer John Curl..." "... this document in narrow letters is made perfectly, easy to understand, supplies furthermore a lot of background information, describes the set absolutely utterly and even offers internet-links, index and ample graphics. Congratulations!" - Roland Kraft



Widescreen Review, September 2003
"The C 1 had a characteristically open, detailed presence, yet also sounded smooth and well balanced, even at high sound pressure levels. For this reason, I found the experience of a wide range of soundtracks in terms of sonic energy really delightful with the C 1." "...this combination of superb performance and functionality makes the C 1 one of the true forefront players in the competitive surround processor market. Its $6,000 price tag should actually seem modest, once you have had the opportunity to listen to and appreciate its many offerings, and knowing the fact that a lot of what it offers is simply missing from their competitors." - Perry Sun



T 3 (UK), September 2003
"Once all the setting-up donkey work's been done, using the C 1/A 51 is a breeze, either via the main, menu driven remote or the much smaller and simpler 'sidekick' handset, which has buttons only for everyday functions." "Its high price pitches it against formidable opposition, but the C 1/A 51 pairing more than holds its own, with a combination of massive power, killer dynamics, fine transparency and user flexibility." T 3 Five Star Gold Award - David Vivian



AudioVision (Germany), August 2003
"Parasound hat mit der Kombination C 1/A 51 eine echte Alternative zu den Boliden von Lexicon und Tag McLaren geschaffen..." "Insgesamt also eine fantastische Vorstellun." - Michael Nothnagel



Hi-Fi Choice (UK), July 2003
"...big-hearted but never aggressive in its delivery and a perfect solution for that big-screen home cinema experience." "...the Parasound duet (C 1/A 51) allows the most substantial loudspeakers to melt from the scene." "...rest assured that the performance of the C 1 and A 51 is as flexible and impressive as you could hope for." Editor's Choice - Paul Miller



Son & Image (Canada), June 2003



Stuff (Russia), June 2003

"C 1 With it's countless functions it will easily cope with professional studios and elite home theaters, defying untapped resources. Audiophiles think that $7200 (Russian) for future confidence is rather decent: there are devices much more expensive, but also there are few much cheaper. One might ask how, except for number of sockets, the splendid C 1 differs from a ‘popular' receiver of $200. A lot: decoding quality and amazingly low noise, encyclopedic formats knowledge and programming ability, phenomenal reliability and stamina. If this is not enough, ask George Lucas whose (Parasound) components have helped him to create two ‘Star Wars' episodes?" 5 Stars - Dmitry Lysak



Home Theater, May 2003
"If you're in the pre/pro market in the mid to upper price range, there's no question that the C 1 belongs on your absolutely shortest list." "It would be a serious understatement to call this unit fully featured. It's loaded with conventional features and offers plenty of rare and unique tricks..." "...music and movie performance are superb, it has just about every feature and function you can imagine, and yet it retains a clear sense of user friendliness." - Chris Lewis



Alta Fedelta Digitale (Italy), April 2003
"From the first notes we heard, the sonic performance was absolutely perfect, especially using a CD." "Timing was perfect, with quality sound that is neutral and balanced. Excellent!" "The decoding motherborad is a magnificent piece of equipment." "In terms of features, nothing whatsoever is missed." - Roberto Pezzali



c't Kino Daheim - special (Germany), April 2003
"Ein nochmals souveräneres, präziseres Klangbild mit unglaublichem Bass und fantastischer Räumlichkeit" - Ulrich von Löhneysen



"And once again more sovereign (confident), more exact sound characteristic, with unbelievable bass and fantastic accommodation" - Ulrich von Löhneysen



What Hi-Fi (Russia), April 2003

"All sounds - from leaves rustling and rain, to rifles and a train's roar - are reproduced very plausibly, without any tint or digital "dirt" from compressed audio formats such as Dolby Digital. Soundtracks sound excellent, regardless of genre. Voices of actors, their emotions - all sound very plausible, giving true pleasure to any film fan. Special sound effects so loved by mystery and thriller creators are magnificent. During ‘The Call' the viewer remains literally chained to the armchair. Creaks, leaves rustling, steps - all so realistic that it forces even people with nerves of steel to shudder. In a word, an outstanding set. Listen to it - you will not regret."



The Chicago Athenaeum, 2003
Good Design Award
A prestigious award from The Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design for excellence in International Industrial Design.



                       
       

Halo - C 2 Controller Reviews

Home Vision (Germany), October 2004
"Der C 2 von Parasound ist ein extrem flexibler und gut ausgestatteter Audio-Video-Controller mit guten Messwerten. Insgesamt aus messtechnischer Sicht ein gut gelungenes Gerät mit sauberen Werten in allen Disziplinen."

"The C 2 from Parasound is an extremely flexible and well equipped Audio-Video Controller with good technical specifications. In total, looking at it from a specifications point of view, a very nice unit with clean properties in all disciplines." - Anselm Goertz

AudioVision (Germany), September 2004
"During listening, the set (C 2, A 52) showed muscles -but also a sense for fine details and apparent dimensionality." "The set organized the sound well, and never left any doubt of where the voices or music instruments were coming from." "Even in the biggest 'encounters' the Parasound never lost imaging, and even the strongest explosions or deepest bass attacks of a kind like 'Star Trek' could not distress them at all." "With this combination the Parasound development engineers have proven again a first class job." 93 - Michael Nothnagel

Home Theater, September 2004
What's the one piece of gear currently in your system that you can't live without? "Parasound's Halo processor allows the signal to pass through virtually unfettered: The highs are sweet and clear, without sounding etched; the mids are full and rich, giving body and weight to midrange spectra; and bass is crisp and tight. The Halo has improved the manner in which I evaluate other gear; it's indispensable for its neutrality." - Jerry Kindella, Contributor

Audio & Video Lifestyle (Australia), August 2004
"This combo (C 2 and A 52) has to be the outright best looking gear I have had in my home theatre system." "In set-up, this sophisticated piece of equipment was quite easy." "...the sound came through like candy to the ears." "The Parasound duo produced highs that had a remarkable degree of detail." "It had a smoothness that helped create a sense of space and poise that was remarked upon by all who heard the combo." "Midrange performance was detailed and neutral. Male and female voice, violins and cellos were never harsh (as you would not forgive at this price point), but were reproduced with the most natural realism that I have heard from my home theatre."
Performance = Five Stars (Perfection), Build Quality = Five Stars (Perfection) - Gavin Womersley

Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, August 2004
"This is a very flexible processor that sounds great and can be configured with ease." "The AKM DACs, Burr-Brown op-amps, and Motorola processor are all top notch and are implemented in such a way to provide excellent sound quality and functionality." "Overall, thumbs up for the Halo C 2 with its simple set-up process, excellent flexibility, cool styling, and high-performance audio quality." - Sandy Bird

Diapason (France), May 2004

Audioholics, April 2004
"Installing the Halos (C 1 and C 2) proved to be extremely easy as the ergonomic back panel was effortless to work with and follow." "In stereo mode the Halos were able to present tremendous detail and imaging without sounding mechanical." "I positioned the extra channel speakers in along the wall of each side of the room, about mid-way, and facing the center of the room. My thought was to try and emulate the speakers along the side wall of a movie theater. When doing so, I must admit that I was astonished to hear how these speakers really added to the movie experience." "Parasound created two wonders with their design of the Halo C 1 and C 2." - Steve DellaSala

AV Guide Monthly, March 2004
"...a controller that is hard to outgrow, and whose motto could well be "Flexibility-R-Us." "Unlike controllers or AVR's whose main objective is to keep up with the 'alphabet soup du jour' of emerging surround sound formats, the C 2 unequivocally puts sound and image quality first." "I wanted something considerably better, and the Halo electronics provided it, letting me hear soundtracks with higher resolution, more focus, more believable dynamics, and better channel-to-channel integration than I've heard from most home theater systems." - Chris Martens

Home Cinema Choice (UK), March 2004
"Flexibility is the name of the game with this unit..." "...the Halo C 2 generates believable, large scale images, and progressive, well-focused steering using 5.1 and 7.1 speaker arrays." "A first class system, the Halo combination as tested is prodigiously flexible, and appears to have an answer to planned obsolescence that is only matched by more costly solutions..." "...a superb package (C 2, A 52, A 23), whose power and majesty can only be hinted at on the printed page, and tremendous material value for money too. Audition with urgency." 4 1/2 Stars - Alvin Gold

Stereophile Guide to Home Theater, March 2004
AAA Recommended Component - "...a brilliantly executed piece of technology, superficially simple and deeply complex, that lends itself with equal grace to the naive movie fan, jaded audiophile, or veteran home theater enthusiast."

Home Theater, February 2004
Featured component in premiere article of the quarterly Hook Me Up feature. "...plenty of sonic performance to make the C 2 one of the better values you'll find anywhere in the high-end realm." "The Parasound's automatic system for setting relative speaker level and distance using a supplied microphone is among the best systems of this nature that I've used. Even if you do these settings manually, the Parasound's onscreen menu and remote make it quick, easy work." - Chris Lewis

Opera International (France), February 2004
"Que vous restiez fidèles à la stéréo ou que vous désiriez tenter une incursion dans le monde du son multicanal, cet ensemble Parasound constitue pour nous l'électronique ultime, la meilleure que nous connaissions aujourd'hui. Tout simplement. Si la perfection était de ce monde, nous dirions qu'elle est tout simplement parfaite, d'autant qu'elle ne nécessite pas un long apprentissage pour profiter de ses charmes."

"Whether you want to stick to traditional stereo or want to go multi-channel, this Parasound combo (C 2/A 52) seems to us the best we know of today. Quite simply, if perfection ever existed, we would say this is it, in as much as it does not require a 'steep learning curve' to get the most out of its charms." -Ghislain Prugnard

What Hi-Fi (Russia), January 2004

"Now about sound, it is powerful, well balanced and not deformed on the dynamic range edges. Run any action movie - and you will get real movie sound that always involves you in the action. This set extracts information from a soundtrack with such absolute precision that it surprises. The reality of sound sometimes seems unbelievable - Ian Holm's voice in 'Fifth Element' is just amazing. Verdict: very expensive but excellent set possessing perfect sound and extraordinary relish."

Home Theater Buyers Guide, 2004
Featured component in Stepping Up Your System article. "Sky is the limit" system.

EISA Award, 2003- 2004
Nominee for Home Theater European Imaging and Sound Association Award

Essential Home Cinema (UK), December 2003
"Our assumption was that the C 2/A 52 combination would put on an excellent show, and we weren't disappointed." "The surrounds were hitting every level with glorious attention to detail and no background noise to distract from a broad, accurate performance that enveloped the room without pushing too hard." "Outstanding. If you've got money and a taste for the sublime this amp/processor combination will deliver the crystal, pinpoint, pounding audio performance you deserve." Five Stars Editor's Choice - Ian Collen

Diapason (France), November 2003
Diapason D'OR Award
"En écoutant nos SACD de référence , nous avons été saisis par le délié, le naturel de cette électronique d'exception.....on approche l'idéal sonore."

"While we were listening to our reference SACD, we were flabbergasted by the articulation and naturalness of these truly exceptional components (C 2/A 52), we are heading for an ideal sound."

Stereophile Guide to Home Theater, October 2003
"I was prepared for the C 2 to sound good - but not as good as it did, which was superb." "...the Parasound Halo C 2 is a wonderful piece. It's gorgeously designed, marvelously versatile, and it sounded fantastic. It's intended to satisfy both the fussy audiophile and the home-theater fanatic - an almost impossible task, but one that Parasound can be proud of achieving. Even after three months with it, I was still discovering new tricks it could do. And, like every Parasound product I've ever encountered, it's rock-solid and totally reliable." "The C 2 is future-forward in every aspect and should find its place as the heart of many a high-performance home theater system." - Barry Willis

Heimkino (Germany), October 2003"...auch das Impulsverhalten des C 2 war fabelhaft..." "mit dem lang ersehnten C 2 präsentiert Parasound eine AV-Vorstufe, die hinsichtlich Ausstattung und Bedienkomfort Maßstäbe setzt..." 1+ Referenzklasse - Uwe Schlink

"...also the conduct of the impulse of C 2 was marvellous..." "with the long-desired C 2, Parasound is presenting an AV input stage that sets the standards for equipment and comfort in control..." reference-class A+ - Uwe Schlink

HiFi News (UK), August 2003
"...if you're one of those who prefers not to delve into the bowels of your processor settings, the excellence and ease of the Parasound setup should provide welcome relief." "...the Parasound offered a thoroughly enveloping movie experience." "I enjoyed my time with it to the degree that I didn't want to return it." - Jonathan Gorse

DVD Etc., May 2003
"The fit, finish and build quality of the Parasound Halo C 2 processor is beyond reproach." "I find the aesthetics to be among the best available." "I found it overall one of the easiest setup menus I have used." "The C 2 package with its sonic performance, automatic calibration, complete feature set, excellent remote, programmability, beautiful aesthetics, and hardware/software upgradeability is quite possibly the most complete processor package in the $4,000 arena (one that is extremely competitive at this time), and rightly takes its place at the head of the pack." Rating 97 - Manoj Motwani, M.D.

HomeTheaterReview.com, April 2003
Parasound is one of those companies that has been steadily churning out products that have provided intelligent engineering and great value for the money for the better part of two decades. Richard Schram, the owner, enlisted the help of renowned audio engineer John Curl a decade ago to help with the design of Parasound's amplifiers. This has resulted in a series of well-received amplifiers that also scored well on the value front.

Fidelity (Norway), March 2003

                       

Halo - A 51 Amplifier Reviews

HomeTheaterReview.com
When it comes to high-performance, high-value power amplifiers, few do it better than Parasound. The A51, which is part of Parasound's Halo line of cost-no-object products designed in tandem with audio legend John Curl, has benchmark levels of performance, yet costs a reasonable $4,500. Cost no object, huh? If every manufacturer built sub-$5,000 cost-no-object products, the audiophile landscape would be vastly different.

Audioholics, October 2004
"The A 21 and A 51 amplifiers are both loaded with usable features above and beyond most other amplifiers in today’s market." "The Parasound A 51 is more than capable of driving any speaker load in even the most demanding home theater systems." "The linearity of this amplifier is excellent at any power level it is operating in, and its freedom from audible noise and distortion makes it a true winner!" "The Parasound Halo A 21 and A 51 are top rate amplifiers at a great value. Parasound seems to have attended to every aspect of their design including the excellent build quality internally and externally matched with great looks." Overall Rating: 5/5 Stars - Ken Stein and Steve Dellasala

Home Cinema Choice (UK), October 2004
"The processor (C 1) offers enveloping surround sound processing, and the power amplifier is muscular. It has a hint of warmth, but nothing that suggests overhang, and the treble is unusually refined." "Indeed, I’d rate the A 51 as one of the most transparent power amplifiers in its class. It has genuine power and authority, and delivers the kind of visceral kick that makes action films swing along with panache." Five Stars - Alvin Gold

Revue Du Son & Du Home Cinema (France), March 2004
4 Stars

Stereophile Guide to Home Theater, March 2004
AAA Recommended Component - "I expected the A 51 to sound good. What I wasn't prepared for was how good it sounded right out of the box. Its midrange was totally seductive, its soundstaging and imaging abilities in the same league as some of the best gear I've ever heard at any price."

Video (Germany), January 2004
"Mit souveräner Kraft und perfekter Harmonie führt die edle Vor-/Endstufen-Kombi von Parasound direkt ins akustische Nirvana."

"With precise force and perfect harmony the noble preamp/amplifier combination from Parasound takes you directly to acoustic Nirvana." - Jürgen Schröder

Home Theater Buyers Guide, 2004
Featured component in Stepping Up Your System article. "Sky is the limit" system.

Image Home Entertainment (Germany), November 2003
"...als echtes Überraschungspaket muss übrigens die Fünfkanal-Endstufe gleten: Sie begeistert mit durchweg audiophiler Klangqualität, gepaart mit unerbittlicher Power..." "...läutet der Parasound C 1 eine ganz neue Generation von AV-Controllern ein..." "...Feinheiten im Setup zeugen von Liebe zum Detail und enormer Surround-Erfahrung..." "...Fazit: Hier waren zweifellos Könner am Werk..." "...das Teamwork mit der A 51 befördert den C 1 in die klanglich erste Riege..." "...der vom legendären Audio-Enwickler John Curl gezeichneten Endstufe..." "...diese eng beschriebene Dokument ist perfekt gemacht, leicht verständlich, liefert obendrein jede Menge Hintergrunderklärungen, beschreibt das Gerät absolute vollständig und kann sogar mit Internet-Hinweisen, Stichwortverzeichnis sowie ausführlichen Grafiken aufwarten. Kompliment!" - Roland Kraft

"...the output stage with 5 channels must be considered as a real surprise-package: it enthuses with audiophile sound-quality without exception, joined by inexorable power..." "... the Parasound C 1 rings in a totally new generation of AV controllers..." "...refinements in the setup show the love for details and an enormous know-how for surround..." "...to sum it up: here doubtlessly experts were at work..." "... the teamwork with the A 51 promotes the C 1 to the A-grade squad in sound..." "... the output stage, drawn by legendary audio-developer John Curl..." "... this document in narrow letters is made perfectly, easy to understand, supplies furthermore a lot of background information, describes the set absolutely utterly and even offers internet-links, index and ample graphics. Congratulations!" - Roland Kraft

Stereophile Guide to Home Theater, October 2003
"If that 2-channel test drive had me thinking about buying the A 51, the multichannel experience made me want to slap down my Visa card." "With music, the A 51 radiated sweetness and light. With action films, it rained thunder and lightning. There aren't many amplifiers that can so effortlessly cover both ends of the sonic spectrum." "Beautifully designed and skillfully executed, Parasound's Halo A 51 is all the amp anyone could need..." - Barry Willis

Widescreen Review, September 2003
"From the outset, I have to say that the Parasound A 51 multichannel amplifier delivered impressively clean, effortless, detailed sound." "The Parasound Halo A 51 multichannel amplifier, with its top-notch performance for movies and music, deserves a very strong recommendation for anyone serious about quality home theatre and surround music sound." - Perry Sun

T 3 (UK), September 2003
"The A 51 has so much grunt, grip and grace, you have to restrain yourself from cranking up the volume until the walls start to ripple Matrix style." "Its high price pitches it against formidable opposition, but the C 1/A 51 pairing more than holds its own, with a combination of massive power, killer dynamics, fine transparency and user flexibility." T 3 Five Star Gold Award - David Vivian

AudioVision (Germany), August 2003
"Parasound hat mit der Kombination C 1/A 51 eine echte Alternative zu den Boliden von Lexicon und Tag McLaren geschaffen..." "Insgesamt also eine fantastische Vorstellun." - Michael Nothnagel

Hi-Fi Choice (UK), July 2003
"Robust engineering rather than radical technology sees the THX Ultra 2-specified A 51 power amplifier through the day." "...the Parasound duet (C 1/A 51) allows the most substantial loudspeakers to melt from the scene." "...rest assured that the performance of the C 1 and A 51 is as flexible and impressive as you could hope for." Editor's Choice - Paul Miller

Son & Image (Canada), June 2003

DVD Etc., May 2003
"The bass extension is simply wonderful: copious, deep, taut, and rhythmic." "The experience is so strong, that I found myself in musical nirvana..." "It is a superlative performer in the $4,000, multi-channel amp category..." Rating 98 - Manoj Motwani, M.D.

c't Kino Daheim - special (Germany), April 2003
"Ein nochmals souveräneres, präziseres Klangbild mit unglaublichem Bass und fantastischer Räumlichkeit" - Ulrich von Löhneysen

"And once again more sovereign (confident), more exact sound characteristic, with unbelievable bass and fantastic accommodation" - Ulrich von Löhneysen

What Hi-Fi (Russia), April 2003

"All sounds - from leaves rustling and rain, to rifles and a train's roar - are reproduced very plausibly, without any tint or digital "dirt" from compressed audio formats such as Dolby Digital. Soundtracks sound excellent, regardless of genre. Voices of actors, their emotions - all sound very plausible, giving true pleasure to any film fan. Special sound effects so loved by mystery and thriller creators are magnificent. During 'The Call' the viewer remains literally chained to the armchair. Creaks, leaves rustling, steps - all so realistic that it forces even people with nerves of steel to shudder. In a word, an outstanding set. Listen to it - you will not regret."

                 
                 

Halo - A 52 Amplifier Reviews
Halo - JC 2 Reviews

HomeTheaterReview.com, December 2009
When Parasound announced it was releasing a line of products with legendary designer John Curl under the moniker Halo, the press release alone was spank material. At the top of the product line sat the JC1 monaural amplifier, named after the man responsible for bringing it into existence, John Curl. The JC1, when it was released, ranked among the most coveted pieces of audio gear in history and remains on that list to this day. However, unlike most coveted pieces of audiophilia, the JC1 was hugely affordable at $6,000 per pair, which meant that many audiophiles could actually own a piece of audio history, as opposed to just reading about it.

John Curl's mesterverk - June, 2006
International Review (Norway)

The Absolute Sound, October 2004
Editor's Choice Recommended Product - Power Amplifier $5,000 to $10,000

Stereophile, October 2004
Class A Recommended Component - "...the sound wasn't strained in any way, and there was an overall sense of ease. Dynamic ease. Listening ease. Just ease." "Tonally, the Parasounds were magnificent... with no trace of solid state hardness."

Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, August 2004
"The bass on the JC 1s is state of the art, riveting, jaw dropping." "Listening to the Parasound Halo JC 1 monoblocks is a thrilling experience. I could go on for days praising their bass slam, transparency, immediacy, and brilliance." "In three words: they are fabulous." - Jason Victor Serinus

That's Life! Entertainment Magazine, August 2004
"The JC 1's have an uncanny ability to reach out an touch you with their sound while at the same time enveloping you in a sense of the recording space." - Joe Shanaphy

2003 Amplifier of the Year, Stereophile

HiFi News (UK), January 2004
"...incredibly effortless and natural." "This amplifier certainly held me captivated and entertained, drawing me into the music." "If you want to lose yourself in the music, there are precious few components as good as the JC 1." - David Allcock

Stereophile, December 2003
Sam's Product of the Year "Before you blow $10k-$20k or more on some amps that were recommended by a reviewer who didn't buy them, give a listen to the Parasounds, which this reviewer did purchase." "Don't buy an amp without hearing these, even if you can't afford them." - Sam Tellig

EnjoytheMusic.com, November 2003
"Beautiful Brutes." "The JC 1s rank with the best amplifiers I have heard in recreating a multideminsional sound field." "They pump out seemingly effortless power no matter how insanely loud I push them, with never any sense of strain such as you hear when an amplifier is running out of gas." "The JC 1s are also capable of wondrous delicacy, and the kind of transparency that makes you feel that you're hearing every instrument, every voice, but never at the expense of the musical whole." "To be able to buy these robust, delicate, emotionally involving, brilliantly conceived and executed music recreators for $6,000 seems to me little short of a miracle." - Wayne Donnelly

Positive Feedback, August 2003
"...Parasound's Halo JC 1 amplifier, is among the most precisely nuanced amplifiers I know, able to draw the slightest and most delicate of musical expressions, to make the subtlest distinctions. It can also rock you, like your back ain't got no bone, 'cuz it's a brute. It is the amp for all seasons." "It has the ability to produce a believable facsimile of spaciousness, that 3-D sound-staging that makes the illusion of space between the instruments nearly tangible; the ability to produce timbral, harmonic, and dynamic accuracy that results in what we call 'inner detail'; the ability to produce delicate refined purity of tone one moment, and then bowl you over with A BIG WALL OF SOUND the next." "...these amps are truly outstanding, among the best I've ever heard, and the best I've had in my system." - Max Dudious

The Absolute Sound, June 2003
"...I was impressed with the remarkable speed, clarity, transparency, and focus of these amps straight out of the box." "The high frequencies were to-die-for silky smooth, crystal clear, and abundantly detailed. The kind you could listen to all day long without fatigue." "There wasn't anything that didn't sound great on the JC 1." "I was left with an ear-to-ear grin on my face that lasted the rest of the week." - Sue Kraft

Fidelity (Norway), May 2003

Stereophile, April 2003
Class A Recommended Component - "...ultra-wide bandwidth, high-current capability, low, low noise, a high S/N ratio, and a fast slew rate, among many other indicators of outstanding amplifier performance." "There was an honesty to the overall tonal and harmonic presentation that transcended technological stereotypes." "The Halo JC 1 is not only the best amplifier to come from Parasound, it ranks up there with the best high-end heavyweights." "Rocks for sure."

Stereophile, February 2003
"It took but a few seconds for me to absolutely fall in love with the Halo JC 1." "Powerful, refined, smooth, organized, dynamic, transparent, and rhythmically supple, the JC 1 offered a combination of attributes that added up to many weeks of listening pleasure. I'd be happy to have it go on indefinitely - as, no doubt, will many of you." - Michael Fremer

Bound for Sound, #149
"Clean, clean, clean." " I've heard $30,000 power amps not sound so nearly perfect." - Martin DeWulf

               

Halo - A 21 Amplifier Reviews

Stereo&Video (May, 2014)
"This amazing group of equipment best demonstrates the audio industry's present state of the art."

SoundReproduction.com, October 2005
"Out of the box the A 21 sounds wonderful. I sampled several Red Book CD's of different recording quality and musical genera's and quickly came to the realization that the A 21 was indeed a very special amplifier, and I could not wait to begin the serious evaluation after burn-in." - Shane Mattson

Audioholics, December 2004
Product of the Year Award 2004 - Two-Channel Power Amplifier
"For those who desire the power of a Mack truck with the finesse of a Mercedes Benz in a two-channel amplifier, look no further than Parasound." "With the assortment of unbalanced and balanced inputs, triggered output, and ground lift option no stones were left unturned with this well built, attractive design."

Audioholics, October 2004
"The A 21 and A 51 amplifiers are both loaded with usable features above and beyond most other amplifiers in today's market." "I cranked the volume way up and found myself free of that inhibiting audio alarm in my head that nags at me to turn it back down. Using the Parasound amp allowed my speakers to portray every aspect that I had come to expect without adding any noticeable sign of distortion or flaw." "The Parasound Halo A 21 and A 51 are top rate amplifiers at a great value. Parasound seems to have attended to every aspect of their design including the excellent build quality internally and externally matched with great looks." Overall Rating: 5/5 Stars - Ken Stein and Steve Dellasala

Luister (Netherlands), November 2003

Audiophile.no (Norway), July 2003

       

 

     

Halo - A 23 Amplifier Reviews

SoundStage, June 2014
"I was surprised by the A 23's clarity, soundstaging, and natural sound. I estimate that the combination of it and Parasound's recently reviewed Halo P 5 preamplifier will result in sound that is unassailable in quality by any other combination of components that can be bought for a like amount. The A 23 sounded surprisingly good from the moment I first turned it on. Several months later, I hated to turn it off for the last time and send it back."

Good Sound, December 2004
"My son began dancing while I played this CD through the Parasound combo (P 3/A 23) - they passed the toe-tapping test with flying colors." "...the Halo A 23 never sounded strained, nor did the sonic picture lose coherence or take on unwanted coloration with the increased volume." "Parasound's Halo P 3 preamplifier and Halo A 23 power amplifier are sexy in appearance, easy to use, and sound solid and satisfying." "Good value and good sound: a winning combination!" - Eric Hetherington

The Absolute Sound, October 2004
Editor's Choice Recommended Product - Power Amplifier under $1,000

Home Cinema Choice (UK), March 2004
"125 Parasound Watts carries a lot more grunt in the real world than a similar number of Watts from most AV amps, as our lab test prove." "...the system is powerful, engaging and very listenable, even when pumping the bass cones as though there was no tomorrow." "Power reserves are high and the whole effect is one of control, good definition and kick ass authority." "...a superb package (C 2, A 52, A 23), whose power and majesty can only be hinted at on the printed page, and tremendous material value for money too. Audition with urgency." 4 1/2 Stars - Alvin Gold

Futurelooks, November 2003
"Each note was reproduced with a distinction, bass extension, and clarity." "The HALO system (P 3/A 23) brought out previously hidden harmonics and details that I never truly heard before, but at the same time, made the track sound a lot more laid back and musical." "Although there are only two speakers attached to this system (P 3/A 23), the three dimensional imaging produced by this system is really outstanding." "Absolutely the best bang for the buck that money can buy." Editor's Choice - Stephen Fung

Stereo (Germany), July 2003
"...darf sich hervorragender Empfangsleistungen rühmen..." - Holger Barske

"...may boast about excellent reception achievements..." - Holger Barske

The Absolute Sound, June 2003
Featured component in Annual Recommended Systems article.

Stereo Times, April 2003
"This amplifier packs a significant wallop, and does so while maintaining a good measure of soundstage composure and truth of timbre." - Greg Petan

Audiorevolution.com, December 2002
"...the soundstage was beautifully overwhelming. I cranked the volume in an inadvertent attempt to involve my neighbors and the A 23 amplifier had no problems keeping up. The soundstage was very full, extending beyond the outside edges of the speakers and left no noticeable holes." "...the sound for stereo music reproduction is better than any A/V receiver I have heard in my system by leaps and bounds." - Brian Kahn

Playboy, December 2002
Playboy's Christmas Gift Guide, featured item: "If you've got it, spend it"

T3 (UK), November 2002
"From the off it sounds both colorful and convincing." " ...more than capable of generating a generous, cohesive and believable sound that doesn't want for ambient detail or atmosphere. It 'cruises' beautifully too; if amps can sound supple and loose-limbed, these ones do." "...effortlessly musical and consistently enjoyable." - David Vivian

Hi-Fi Choice (UK), November 2002
"...it's the Halo style that makes you wonder why other amps at the price aren't this well made." "Beautifully built with even-handed, natural sound. Deep sound stage and bolted-down stereo image." "Looks like high-end electronics, sounds like high-end electronics, priced like mid-fi." - Alan Sircom

The Absolute Sound, November 2002
"...the A 23 made horns sound remarkably lifelike and natural." "...I was impressed with the A 23's resolution..." "This Halo P 3/A 23 combo is the kind of system that should be celebrated as an invitation to participate in high-end audio as a hobby. And it continues Parasound's tradition of giving people more performance for the money than they have any right to expect." - Shane Buettner

               
               

Halo - T 3 Tuner Reviews

Luister (Netherlands), November 2003

Stereo (Germany), July 2003
"...darf sich hervorragender Empfangsleistungen rühmen..." - Holger Barske

"...may boast about excellent reception achievements..." - Holger Barske

Audiorevolution.com, December 2002
"It consistently performed at a higher level than my reference tuner..." "I also found the T 3's soundstage to open up a bit more and provide imaging that I had not previously heard through my reference tuner." - Brian Kahn

Playboy, December 2002
Playboy's Christmas Gift Guide, featured item: "If you've got it, spend it"

Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, August 2002
"Every time I heard a song on this radio that I also happened to have in my CD collection, I would quickly put in the CD and listen to the song again for comparison. In every case, I found that this unit had no deficiency." "This unit is able to clearly pull in stations that I cannot hear well on other radios." "If you are looking for a top notch separate tuner for your system, this is it." - Tod DeBie